Your Legal Time Limits After A Crash
September 17th, 2015 by Patrick Hogan
A traumatic car crash is a life changing event, especially when injuries are involved. The health and safety of you and your family members is always top priority. Your focus is on recovery not compensation. The law, however, limits the time you have to take action.
California law effectively sets the statute of limitations or time limit for filing a personal injury claim at two years. This same time limit applies for wrongful death suits resulting from a car accident. This time period begins on the date of the accident. In the event that the accident involved only property damage, the statute of limitations increases to 3 years. So, while you may be in the hospital focusing on getting well or trying to return your family to a normal life, time has already begun ticking away. If the deadline passes before a lawsuit it filed, it is nearly impossible to have your case heard in any California courtroom.
If you were involved in an accident with a government entity, such as police officer, municipal trash truck, or city bus your time to act is extremely limited. A formal claim must be filed within 6 months from the date of the accident. If the claim is denied, victims are allowed six months from the date of denial to file a lawsuit for personal injury.
California laws are complicated and meeting filing deadlines is vital to ensuring you receive the compensation you deserve. Contacting a personal injury attorney after your accident allows you to focus on what’s truly important, your family. If you or someone you loved has been involved in an accident, contact us. Our dedicated attorneys work tirelessly to ensure you never miss a deadline and your family is fully compensated for their injuries and suffering.
Comments are closed.