If you want to file a personal injury lawsuit after an accident, you should take into account the legal advice from a personal injury lawyer. Most of the lawyers in California charge on a contingency basis rather than an hourly rate. This means that your lawyer will only get paid once your case is won. Otherwise, you won’t have to pay for lawyer fees.
When setting an appointment with an attorney, you can take the opportunity to negotiate your payment preference. A reputable attorney may charge you more than the standard rate but may help recover an even higher settlement for you. The negotiation will depend on the amount of time your claim takes to settle the complexity and costs associated with your claim. Expensese include detective fees, expert witness fees, medical records fees, etc.
In some types of claims, the attorney will pay the money for these related expenses and get reimbursed from the money received. In California, for example, lawyers charge anywhere between 25%-40% of the settlement amount. In some states, a lawyer asks for 15%-40% of the settlement amount. In some situations, a personal injury case can be filed in small claims court, without a need for legal representation as settlement amount does go beyond $2,500-$15,000, as set by the law.