State laws related to traumatic brain injury (TBI) are all geared towards providing prevention and support against TBI incidents. Although state laws are not the exactly the same, they bear similarities in the following areas.
1. Developing a similar reporting system for TBI.
2. Identify effective strategies that can help prevent or reduce the occurrence of TBI.
3. Spread awareness on TBI in the form of education accessible to the public.
Let’s take California as an example. The state requires its school districts that offer athletic programs to remove athletes suspected of incurring head injury or concussion. The athlete must also undergo thorough evaluation and secure a written clearance from a licensed medical professional to return to the program.
They also have specific rules in place to ensure that peace officers know how to handle situations involving veterans suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and TBI.
California also has a fund dedicated to adults 18 years of age and older suffering from TBI. The allocation is being used to monitor rehabilitation facilities tasked to support the victims’ recovery.
Since TBI injuries have both short-term and long-term effects, and can result from different incidents involving personal injury, the statute of limitations for each state also differ. In California, it’s usually 2 years from the date of the injury or a year from the date of discovery.
To know more about laws governing TBI in your own area, consult a local attorney. A personal discussion with an experienced attorney can serve as the perfect opportunity to ask about TBI legislations.