Cyclists have the same responsibilities as vehicle drivers. California bicycle laws and other related laws are under the California Vehicle Code (CVC).
According to the CVC, bicyclists must stop for stop signs and red lights, stop at the crosswalk, and yield to pedestrians at intersections just like vehicle drivers. When cycling slower than traffic, cyclists are required by law to bike on the right side of the road. Stay as close as possible to the right side of the road. and use the bike lane when possible.
As a safety measure, the law requires cyclists to have a white light in front of the bike for driving at night. Attach a red reflector on the rear of the bike that is visible from 500 feet away. On both pedals and shoes, use a yellow or white reflector that is visible from the back and the front of the bicycle, visible from 200 feet away.
The law requires cyclists under the age of 18 to wear a helmet qualified by the American Society for Testing Materials, the American National Standards Institute, the Snell Memorial Foundation Standard. In some jurisdictions, all cyclists are legally required to wear helmet.
When wearing earphones or earplugs while riding, cyclists are only allowed to cover only one ear. Like vehicle drivers, it is illegal for cyclists to ride under the influence of drugs or alcohol. It is also illegal in California for cyclists to hitch a ride on cars and other motor vehicles.
Cyclists are required to use bikes that are the right size for them. This means the cyclist should be able to stop, support and start in an upright position with at least one foot on the ground.